Dating in davao
Due to silting of the Mestizo River, Vigan City is no longer separated from the mainland, therefore no longer an island.
The city is unique in the Philippines because it is one of many extensive surviving Philippine historic cities, dating back to the 16th century.
Separated from the indigenous population, the Chinese migrants were residents in a neighbourhood called El Pariancillo, los Sangleyes del parian (The Sangleyes of the Parian); and the Spanish settlers were residents in a town called Los Españoles de la Villa (The Town Spaniards). At the start of World War II, Vigan was one of the first places in the Philippines invaded by Japan on 10 December 1941. In 1999, Vigan was listed by UNESCO as the best preserved example of Spanish colonial towns in Asia.
During the Philippine Revolution, revolutionary forces under Manuel Tinio, supported by the Ilocano rebels, attacked and defeated the Spanish colonial forces and captured the city in the Siege of Vigan. Its architecture is the conglomeration of cultural elements from the Philippines, China, and Spain, making it unique in the world.
The King collects 800 tributes (equivalent to 3,200 subjects)." During this period, Vigan was composed of 19 barrios (districts).
Between 16, Vigan was divided into 21 Cabezas de Barrio (Town Mayors) as mentioned in the Libro de Casamiento (Book of Marriage); from the records of the parish house of Vigan found in its archives. and Philippine Commonwealth ground troops, aided by Ilocano resistance fighters, defeated the Japanese Imperial forces and liberated Vigan.
Governor General Gómez Pérez Dasmariñas, in his account of encomienda dated in Manila on May 31, 1591, states: "The town of Vigan called Villa Fernandina consisted of Spanish settlers; a priest; a Justice Alcalde Mayor (Governor); and a Deputy.
As a reward for his services to the King of Spain, Salcedo was awarded the old province of Ilocos, which consisted of the modern provinces of Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, Abra, La Union and part of Mountain Province as his hacienda (estate), and was accorded the title of Justicia Mayor de esta Provincia de Ylocos (Province Mayor of Ilocos).
In 1574, Salcedo returned to the capital of his encomienda (trusteeship), Vigan, bringing with him his soldiers and some Augustinian missionaries to pioneer the evangelization of the Ilocos region.
Its 2,511 hectares of land consists mostly of plains with gentle hills. Majority of its land, 60 percent of it, is used for agriculture.
Its boundaries on the north, east, south, and west are the municipalities of Bantay, Santa, Caoayan, and Sta. Around 32 percent is made up of residential area, nearly three percent are for commercial and industrial use, and around one percent is for institutional purposes.